The Imperial Examination and the Opening of School

Era Information
Time: 1636-1840
Location of Capital: Beijing City
Emperors: Kangxi, Yongzheng, Qianlong, Jiaqing, Daoguang, Xianfeng, Tongzhi(Cixi), Guangxu, Puyi
Replaced by: Modern China

Imperial examination in Qing dynastyThe imperial examination system has lasted from Sui and Tang dynasty to Qing dynasty for selection of official members and the reserves of governing people. There are many art sections in Tang’s examination and held every years. There are only Jingshi in art section to exam of the Ba Gu Wen. While the military section checking the horseracing and weight lifting.

The imperial examination in Ming dynasty can be divided into County examination, provincial examination and Palace examination. Tongsheng first took part in the examination held by county. The qualified students were called Xiu Cai or Sheng Yuan. And then they come to Fuzhou ( bigger administrative districs) to learn more things.

The excellent students can be decided as the KeJu and then have the qualification to take part in the provincial examination. The provincial exam was held three years a time and the qualified was called Juren, who will have the qualification to take part in the exam held by the central government.